Yoga binds body, mind & soul

“Now the reverse is happening. People teach, practice and then study. Study is different and practice is different,” Arun says, displaying his lively sense of humour. “Without an experience of practice, it is unethical to teach,” says Arun, adding, “Yoga is not a physical workout. And it is not religion. It is beyond religion. It is non-separation of the body, mind and soul. It comes from the heart. Yoga transforms the person. But for that you need patience. Asana and pranayama will help you achieve peace of mind and that will lead to dhyana.”

Arun, who was born in Sringeri in 1954, started his career at a chartered accountant company. In 1974, he suffered from asthma and wheezing and on a recommendation of a colleague, decided to try yoga as a remedy. He was initiated to yoga in 1974, by late Janakiraman, and within two years of his practice, he was cured of asthma. In 1976, he started teaching yoga at the Rashtrothana Shareerika Shiksha Kendra in Bengaluru. A couple of years later, he gave a session in front of B.K.S. Iyengar, which changed his life.

“When he saw me conducting a class, he told me, ‘you are not teaching. You have to come down to the students’ level.”

Arun was only 19 then, but that guidance stayed with Arun, and he spent years imbibing it. “Teaching often becomes poetic or mythological, and students don’t understand. More than being a teacher, I like to share with my students. When I give a class, I let them see what I am doing.” He believes in giving personal attention to every student. “I want to connect with them through friendliness and compassion, so that every one can benefit from what I have practiced and what I am sharing.” He clearly states that his Institute is not a business centre. “I want students, not customers. We don’t treat our students as clients.”

To read more.. Click Here

Leave a comment